More

Clitheroe Golf Club

History

Clitheroe Golf Club was originally founded in 1891 but moved to its present site in 1932, following the generosity of the Southworth family which made possible the building of a fine clubhouse as well as a full 18 hole golf course. An extensive collection of artefacts and a pictorial library of the history of the club is housed in the Southworth Room, a conference room overlooking the course  .

Designed by legendary Scottish golf course architect James Braid, Clitheroe GC is a stunning  parkland course in the heart of the Ribble Valley, part of the Forest of Bowland, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The course is a challenge to all levels of golfer with a premium on straight driving, but without being too demanding physically due to its level terrain.

In 1937 an exhibition match featuring the American Cup Ryder captain Walter Hagan and local golfing legend Jimmy Rothwell confirmed the status of the rapidly maturing course. 

In 1960 land was purchased from a neighbouring farmer and two new holes were created - the present 9th and 17th.  They were opened in 1965 with an exhibition match involving three Walker Cup captains - Joe Carr, Michael Bonallack and David Marsh. It was a great occasion.

Clitheroe is regarded as one of the top courses in Lancashire.  The  County Championships, Senior, Ladies  and Junior have been held several times and CGC has been host to the regional qualifying competition for The Open.

The views from the course are quite spectacular over Longridge Fells and Waddington providing the backdrop to Stonyhurst College and the mediaeval Mitton Church. 





Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.